[HorseShoe]26th Annual
World Series of Poker

No-Limit Texas Hold'em

$10,000 Buy-in
Entries: 273
Total Prize Money: $2,730,000

1994 Defending Champion: Russ Hamilton - $1,000,000

1995 Champion: ???????

The Chip Leaders

1. Freddie Deeb $52,750
2. Howard Goldfarb 40,500
3. Bobby Hoff 38,775
4. Peter Vilandos 36,875
5. Herb Bronstein 35,575
6. Gus Echeverri 34,625
7. Roy Thung 33,975
8. Yosh Nakano 33,725
9. R. David Baxter 32,900
10. Mike Epstein 32,825
11. Eskimo Clark 32,675
12. Bill Argyros 32,600
13. Pat Callihan 32,350
14. Chuck Thompson 32,250
15. Tony Lantz 32,175
16. Barbara Enright 32,050
17. Billy Baxter 31,275
18. Tom Franklin 31,000
19. Larry Beilfuss 29,900
20. Todd Brunson 29,725

The Story

. Binion's Horseshoe, May 15, 1995 -- The 1995 World Championship $10,000 buy-in No-Limit Texas Hold'em competition attracted a record field of 273 players who posted a record prize purse of $2,730,000. These figures bring the total number of entrants in the 26th annual World Series of Poker to 4,146 and the total prize money distributed to $10,904,500, also setting a new WSP record.

. Among the 273 entrants in this year's championship event were 14 former World Champions: Puggy Pearson (1973), Doyle Brunson (1976, '77), Bobby Baldwin (1978), Stu Ungar (1980, '81), Tom McEvoy (1983), Jack Keller (1984), Berry Johnston (1986), Johnny Chan (1987, '88), Phil Hellmuth Jr. (1989), Mansour Matloubi (1990), Brad Daugherty (1991), Hamid Dastmalchi (1992), Jim Bechtel (1993), and reigning World Champion Russ Hamilton. Noticeably absent from the tournament line-up was Johnny Moss, the only three-time World Champion of Poker (1970, '71, '74). Because of the long hours and stress inherent in the four-day event, the 88-year-old "Grand Old Man of Poker" declined to play this year.

. Also participating in the championship event were 11 women, including Barbara Enright, who holds the distinction of being the only two-time Women's World Poker Champion; Marsha Waggoner, who ranks No. 1 on the women's roster of all-time WSP money winners; Annie Duke, who has cashed four times in this year's World Series; and Barbara Samuelson, who placed 10th in the 1994 championship tournament, the highest finish ever for a woman player.

. Although complete data is not yet available, records through May 12 show that 36 players entered the tournament through one-table satellites, 83 players came from super-satellites, and two players won satellites held elsewhere.

. After the first day of competition, 157 players are left. Leading the field with $52,750 in chips is Freddie Deeb of Long Beach, California. Holding down the No. 2 spot with $40,500 in chips is Howard Goldfarb, and in third place with $38,775 in chips is Bobby Hoff. Nine World Champions of Poker remain in the tournament, including reigning World Champion Russ Hamilton. Also still in contention for the title are six women: Cyndi Violette, Anne Spinetti, Kim Booth, Barbara Laux, Jenny Kaye, and Barbara Enright, who is currently No. 16 in chip position.

. The second day of the World Championship tournament begins May 16 at noon, and play will continue until only 27 competitors remain. All 27 semi-finalists will receive prize money.

[Final Table]
[Binion's Horseshoe]
ConJelCo is proud to bring coverage of the 1995 World Series of Poker to the Internet community.

Next Event. Previous Event.

World Series of Poker Home Page
Page last modified: 5-18-95